2021 Jos Benfield Trophy – Awarded to the DPAL Coaching Team!

The Jos Benfield Trophy is the Club’s most prestigious award and this year it has been awarded to a team rather than an individual. First presented in 2008 in memory of Jos Benfield, husband of Lynn, both members of our club. 

Final consideration was not easy with the Men-in-Sheds Team having already received recognition by both Archery GB and Sport England, our Tournaments Team supported by our brilliant Field Crews and Refreshment Teams delivered great competition events. Our Management Committee and Health & Safety Committees have also continued to impact on our Club’s progress throughout 2021.

However, there is one team that stand out, even above all the amazing teams highlighted and that is our Coaching Team.

Lynn and daughter Rosie have therefore awarded the 2021 Jos Benfield Trophy to the Deer Park Archers Active Coaching Team comprising:

Graham Peters, Christine Anderton, Kieran Macey, Peter Sisson, Bob Worcester, Caroline A’Bear, Andy Cramb, Roger Crang, Vanessa Crang, Dan Gill, Steph Gill, Graham Kent, Martin McKay, Jim Rowley, Julian Kellett, Peter Pawley and Tony Summers.

Graham Peters and Julian Kellett were invited to receive the award on behalf of the group.

Julian Kellett and Graham Peter receiving the Jos Benfield Award on behalf of the Coaching Team with Lynn Benfield (left).

Collectively this group has supported numerous trainings that have resulted in membership retention, performance improvement, new membership, increased practice session enjoyment and at the same time developed an increasing level of skills and knowledge to support individuals of all abilities reaching their potential! 

Activities have included, beginners courses, junior only and general club practice sessions, performance groups, county trainings, school clubs, have a goes, equipment workshops, 1-2-1 coaching, improvers courses, coach trainings and in many cases provided Field Captaining and Equipment Maintenance support, and leadership at most general practice sessions!

Hopefully as the pandemic situation improves we will see the return of more of our coaches to support our many activities!

2021 Young Club Person of the Year

This award was first made in 2016. For their support at virtually every Volunteering day and many working mornings in between those events, continuing to support the club even after completing their D of E awards, their unbridled enthusiasm and energy at every session, this years award goes to Laura and Matthew Turner! 

Their mum, Sheena, had she met the age criteria would certainly made it a successful trio!

Matthew and Laura Turner celebrating their well deserved recognition!

Always bringing a friendly smile, all 3 are regulars on the field course, on behalf of the club, thank you for all your volunteering, this is well deserved recognition! 

Steve Howse, Club Chairman commented “These are very special awards, we are fortunate that we have many wonderful volunteers, so to be recognised in this way is a true testament to their contribution to supporting the club.

The quote on our website “Volunteers are not paid because they are worthless, but because they are priceless!” expresses how they are valued at our Club!